Death


My breath became cooler and my mind became silent. I had just witnessed an untimely death. My pulse slowed down to reach a state of safety to protect myself from the horrid scene that had been played in front of me. My eyes became welled up with tears that flowed down my face, gently rolling past my cheekbones and ending up on the corners of my lips. I could taste the salt-water that was gathering aside my shocked expression. All at once, I was transported to another place. It seemed selfish of me to be able to envision this place for myself while the devastation of a fresly passed soul was before me. The saltwater reminded me of a far away beach with pristine sand, hot sun and beautiful sky. The sand crinkled and crushed beneath my feet as I approached the rolling waves. The green-blue water crashed at my toes and washed away the sand I had tracked to the shore. The seagulls were flitting in and out of the water, diving for dinner. They snatched up some fresh fish and flew to the shore to eat in peace. All at once, I was reminded that death will happen for a reason. No one can prevent this from happening. It was a part of life, and thus it shall go on.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

